15th Battalion’s Commanding Officers

The Commanding Officer of an infantry battalion was
an officer holding the rank of Lieutenant Colonel.  An
officer of a lower rank, in certain circumstances, could
also command the battalion and he may or may not have been
temporarily promoted to Lieutenant Colonel rank while so
employed. The 15th Battalion had five Commanding Officers
over the period 1914-1919. LCol JA Currie (top left) 
September 1914 to April 1915; LCol WR Marshall (top right) 
April 1915 to May 1916; LCol CE Bent (centre) May 1916 to May
1919; and two Majors, JW Forbes 1917-1918 (Bottom left) and JP
Girvan1918 (Bottom right) who were temporarily promoted to
LCol and commanded for periods of time when LCol CE Bent was
away from the battalion.


To find more information on each one of these Officers

click here